Some people take temporary jobs, for they have time to do other things. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days many people have a tendency to choose short-term occupations so that they can have more spare time to concentrate on other things. I would argue that these advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two main benefits when people take short-term jobs. Firstly, momentary jobs bring people more flexible time in terms of work schedule. That means they can make more time for their beloved as well as cultivate spiritual and social network, such as aesthetic values or philanthropic activities. For example, apart from being an English teaching assistant, I am also working as a volunteer in Hanoi Free Local Tours organization, where I can help the foreign tourists broaden their horizons about Vietnamese culture and custom. Moreover, by doing temporary work, workers can also get exposure to different workplaces and personalities. This helps them gain their work experience and adaptive abilities to a new environment.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that the disadvantages are more significant than such benefits. Primarily, a short-term career does not have job security. This means they even not only have an unstable income but also do not get the annual salary increments and benefits that regular full-time employees get. Take pregnant women as a convincing example. If they take a temporary job, they are not entitled to receive paid maternity leave around 20 weeks. In addition, there will be fewer career prospects. As a basic incentive system, a promotion at work intrigues employees to work efficiently. Therefore, without career prospects, workers can find no allure of putting a lot of energy and enthusiasm to have their tasks done effectively. This is likely having adverse effects on both themselves and the company they work for.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential disadvantages of contemporary job are more significant than the possible advantages.