In almost all the coutries there are laws regulating the contents of films videos books and newspaper Should the media be controlled in these ways What are the benefits or risks of censorship

It is irrefutable that people live in an era abound with freedom nowadays. Mass media such as the internet, books, and newspapers are available to the citizens. However, few countries remain conservative, which indicates that the media would be censored by the government. In my view, I disagree with the prompt and I believe government should not control the media because it deprives people freedom of right, and my opinion would be elucidated as follows.

It is inappropriate to establish censorship toward the mass media as it oppresses the entire citizens. People possess the right to express their personal perspective and opinions about certain issues and situation. In the event that the media are under controlled by the authorities, people probably feel repressed about it. A case in point is that China regulates the content of the public media. Any content including the violence, pornography, or opposing political ideology would be barred by the central government. In this case, citizens in China are incapable of showing their own thoughts to the public. Thus, to control the media incurs negative effect on the society to some extent.

However, regulating the media could inflict positive influence on the entire nation as well. Though it is disadvantageous in terms of freedom of right in people, it could effectively protect the children from detrimental element. A compelling example of this can be seen in the internet─numerous of websites are inundated with violence and pornography in the present. In this case, children are often incompetent to distinguish right and wrong as they are mentally immature and may therefore, interfered harmfully by it. Hence, formulating censorship to regulate the mass media is imperative.

By way of conclusion, as argued above, controlling the public media could be conducive and detrimental to the whole society. However, it is of paramount importance for every nation to weigh a balance between it.