The amount of time spend on sport and exercise should be increased in school in order to tackle the problem of overweight children Do you think this the best way to deal with the problem What other solutions can you suggest

Every school must have physical education as a subject that should be attended by their students. The subject gives several benefits to the students, such as for relaxation and reducing their weight. Some people believe that the frequency of practical application of physical education should be increased so that it could overcome overweight problems of the students. I disagree with the statement because of several reasons and I believe that there are still many solutions applied to tackle students' overweight problem.

It is true that sport is crucial for human being, including students. However, adding intensity of sport as a subject in curriculum would not solve the obesity problem of the students because of some reasons. First of all, even if the physical education subject's hour increased quite significantly, there is no guarantee that the students will lose their weight. It could be affected by their diet. If they eat a lot, they will still suffer from obesity. Secondly, increasing frequency of sport and exercise could cause more stress to the students that are not fond of physical activities. Furthermore, those students could eat more in order to overcome their stress.

There are some other solutions that could be implemented for overcoming overweight effectively. One of the solutions is by giving nutrition education to the students. This solution could be applied in several ways, such as lecturing to the students what best diet should be taken or having lunch together that once in a week or two weeks provided by the school. The lunch provided shall contain healthy ingredients. Another solution that should be implemented is by giving best diet or exercise workshop to parents. In order to make the workshop interesting, the school could invite the experts. By influencing parents, they can deliver what they learnt in the workshop to their children. This kind of education is definitely more effective to be applied to solve obesity problem.

In conclusion, sport and exercise are definitely crucial to be implemented in school. However, it is not the best solution to tackle overweight problem of students. Some other solutions should be introduced, such as delivering learning about nutrition to the students themselves and conducting workshop discussing about diet or sport to the parents.