Animal testing is a popular act in many fields. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Nowadays, experiments on animals are widely testing the safety of medicines or human productions. However, this trend has both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, we can’t deny the advantages of animal testing, Firstly, animal testing has a part in the development of therapeutic methods. While some kinds of animals have the same construction with humans as apes and mice, they would be able to have experimented on. Those animals take a giant part in our “disease killer”, successful in testing drastically disease methods such as cancer, diabetes, and tuberculosis. Moreover, animal experience ensures the safety of products or medicines. Most companies require testing on animals before bringing out their products to make sure that their medicines don’t make irritante on humans.

On the other hand, doing experiments on animals still has disadvantages in some cases. Under the humanity, animal testing is extremly dangerous for animals. Because when they are in the experiment, they are living in the lack of water and food, maybe overeating and suffering from injuries and operations; but almost all animals used in experiments have no protection, such as mice, fish and rabbits. Last but not least, animal testing leads to misunderstood conclusions. In 1950, a kind of soporific was tested on the mice with super portions but causing more than 10.000 deformities in kids.

Overall, animal testing is the best solution we have found to testing the quality and safety of each medicine or cosmetics. In the future, humans need to find a new and updated alternative to increase the number of experimental animals.