Anybody can use a mobile phone to answer the work and personal calls at any time or 7 days a week. Does this development have more positive or negative effects on both individuals and society?

In the technology era, electronic devices are greatly helping human in life, especially mobile phones. Nowadays, people can use their phones to work or making individual calls at any time. Although there are some negative consequences of this evolution on individuals and society, I believe that they are outweighed by the positive effect.

On the one hand, mobile phones eliminated the major constraint that the world has faced a long time: geographical distance and human can profit from it. To be more specific, mobile phones allow great flexibility, which enables instant exchange of information related to both work and personal matter. Globalization era requires a great deal of transnational collaboration between staff in different offices and also, between the companies and their partner. Thus, access to mobile phone communication regardless of time and location ensures work efficiency for individuals, organizations, and eventually the society's economy as a whole. For example, the latest statistics from the U.S Census points out that more than 75% of 30,000 surveyed employees say that they work more effectively thanks to mobile phones. Furthermore, a person who only needs a mobile phone to keep in touch with their loved one anywhere in the world. This helps people to establish intimate relationships with family, friends and colleagues.

However, going along with the benefits of mobile phone are its negative effects that we need to consider. It is apparent that easy interaction on mobile phones reduces the time for social interaction. In other words, people whose mobile phone's usage is heavy face shortage of real human face-to-face contact, which causes their emotion negative impacts. In addition, excessive phone use significantly affects user's healthy such as eyes damage, increased stress and impaired immune system. For example, a study conducted at Queen Mary's School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine shows that 92% of tested mobile phones contained the E. Coli virus.

In conclusion, despite a few drawbacks, it is undeniable that the use of mobile phones for work and personal calls brings about more benefits to individuals and society.