Are you against or in favour of boarding schools?

Boarding schools are believed, by one school of thought, to be an excellent option for children and they can benefit from attending such schools; however, there are argues against it, citing some concerns. This essay will look at both sides and draw a conclusion.

On the one hand, by attending a boarding school children learn how to be independent as they might be disciplined to become more organized, and it will be beneficent for the remaining of their lives. For instance, they will have to wake up at a certain time in the mornings to have their breakfast and start their regular activities like exercising, which is the normal routine of many such schools. Another merit is that learning to cooperate with others is acquired at these schools since there are many activities doing together such as games and sports, while numerous children who live with their family watch TV or play computer games on end. This kind of cooperation, in real and constant communication with others, is a key-factor to become ready for many jobs and undertake responsibilities in consecutive years. Such an upbringing develops traits that can serve a person as well as a society.

By contrast, opponents of this view point out that a number of concerns about boarding school ranging from emotional disorders, due to staying away from one's family, to sexual abuses which have been reported at boarding schools more often than not. Such issues tend to happen especially in countries with poor supervision. Faced with such issues, children, as they are susceptible to back problems, might suffer for the remaining of their lives.

Overall, it seems clear that the decision to attend boarding schools should be made cautiously, considering different aspects--including the trustworthy of schools’ staff. It would appear that it serves the security and educational quality of a child.