The best way to reduce the number of traffic accidents is to make all young drivers complete a safe driving education course before being licensed to drive

Making young motorists take a defensive driving course before being authorized for driving is the best method to reduce crashes on the roads. This essay agrees that were young people to follow such a course, a huge number of road traffic accidents can be prevented because they learn how to stay focused and how to be alert while they are driving.

Staying focused is vital when someone is behind the wheel as they have to check on a lot of things, such as observing traffic rules and checking mirrors, signs, signals, and road markings. In other words, drivers cannot do anything else while they are driving other than focusing on driving. In defensive driving programs, novel people are taught how to drive without getting distracted as most of the young drivers become inattentive due to talking on the phone, texting or checking messages, eating, or even watching movies while driving. Therefore, these courses equip young minds not to do such things while on the road before issuing a drivers’ license, thereby helps reducing accidents. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claimed that the number of accidents caused by defensive drivers is 95% less than non-defensive drivers.

In addition, alertness is crucial to prevent motor crashes. Drunk driving and driving under the influence of drugs result in increased morbidity and mortality rates by traffic accidents. Young adults are the most vulnerable group for alcohol and narcotic drugs; therefore, instructing them not to consume anything that makes them drowsy before getting behind the wheel is the best way to reduce crashes on the road. According to the annual newsletter of the national motor traffic department, graduates of safe driving courses are 99% less likely to drive their car under the influence of alcohol or drugs than those who have not taken the course.

In conclusion, the best way to bring traffic accidents down is making youth take a defensive driving course before giving them a drivers’ license. This essay agrees with this viewpoint as it can increase beginners’ attention and alertness while driving, thereby dropping the number of accidents on the roads.