Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam". Do you think that this statement is true? What measure can government take to address this problem?

Since last few decades, there has been a burgeoning growth in the number of four wheelers entering the roads, especially in the urban areas. While for a majority of people car is needed for faster commute, it is undeniable that the same need is resulting in road blocks and thereby longer travel times. However, there are certainly some alternatives which can work against such challenges.

To elaborate, owing to the improved economic stature and affordability, the percentage of car owners increased by multi folds. Particularly, in some countries such as India where buying a car was once a dream, hundreds of automobile manufacturers have now entered the markets. In certain households, there is more than single car, but at what cost to others?

Alongside different types of pollution, traffic jams have become a growing concern across all major cities in the world. Nevertheless, lawmakers can take few initiatives to rescue its citizens from this issue. Firstly, by encouraging people to use public transit, many personal vehicles can be stopped from stepping on road.

Secondly, cars with multiple passengers must be allowed to travel toll-free. For instance, California allows its public to travel for free on HOV lanes while participating in carpools. Thirdly, imposing huge levies on each additional car bought by a family, a sense of fear can be inculcated in buyers. That being said, individuals too should take the responsibility by extending their support to government-initiated measures whenever possible.

In essence, while it is undeniable that a rapid increase in number of four-wheelers is causing severe traffic jams, lawmakers can try some options to minimize such issues. After all, there is no problem without a solution.