Children learn best by observing the behaviours of adults and copying with them. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that children can learn by observing and aping the actions of grown-ups. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely agree with the idea that viewing and aping the behaviours of adults is the best way for students to learn. The first prominent justification is that children, especially the infants and toddlers usually copy their parents' behaviours because they do not have the ability to think logically and judge the situation around. Secondly, they can develop their creativity by utilizing their memories when they observe their parents' actions due to the fact that observing the behaviours of grown-ups repeatedly helps children to memorize and all these actions to their mind when they are in the same situation which they can apply their experiences creatively. Finally, copying the actions which are the habit to take care of themselves plays a vital role in the capacity to deal with their personal problems when their parents are away. For example, if parents have to leave their children aged 5 to 6 years alone at home, the children will need to take care of themselves such as eating, drinking and protecting as well which are based on the memories when they observe the grown-ups.

However, I believe that copying the adults is not always a good way for children to learn. Firstly, sometimes the grown-ups have wrong behaviours albeit how good people they are so that children witness these wrong attitudes, they can react with their friends and other people in the same way as this can lead to the misleading characteristics. Furthermore, aping the right behaviours of the adults do not always the good actions for the children to act since there is a range of actions which are not suitable for their age. Last but not least, copying some actions of adults which shows up on television sometimes leads to hazard situations for the children owing to the fact that the television shows for adults often have risky actions which attract children to try at home. For instance, there are a lot of babies were recorded to get injured because of aping the dangerous actions on television shows.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that the best way for children to learn is viewing and aping the actions of grown-ups, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.