Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Since technology are improved, computers and TV have been more popular especially for children. This issue has led teenagers to spend more time watching TV instead of reading books which I believe cannot have the same quality of time where people have read books as a learning tool. Although this issue has several causes, this essay is going to talk about few of them.

The first significant reason why I totally agree with that statement is the fact that TV has been created to entertain people during their free time. These diverse programs have been range from sports, news ,etc., which have given some information to individuals about various subjects. But despite giving those, it has not been a serious source for learning one specific subject. For example, people might have seen different documentaries about nature or wildlife but it has not showed lots of details about that topic. Therefore , maybe people have seen some programs but it does not mean that they have learned something which have gained knowledge for them. Consequently, if someone wants to have more science facts, they must think of taking a course in their interested field instead of watching TV.

Additionally, thorough all these years in TV schedules more and more fun and entertainment programs have been created. And that is because of the programmer’s tendency to make more money and also be well-known in population. Under those circumstance, producers and directors have been fonder of making those programs because they have had more followers among their viewers. As a result, there have been less learning ones to show to people. This issue has propelled to have more people with shallow thoughts and less educated because they have spent their free time just watching TV schedule such as movies and series which they could not obtain much knowledge from them.

In conclusion, in my opinion watching TV cannot be as effective as books to gain scientific subjects. This is because of several reasons including having less learning programs and also if there are, they cannot give a good deal of determined information which could be even wrong.