Compare Hanoi city to Ho Chi Minh city in Vietnam

Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh cities are major cities in Vietnam which attract not only foreign tourists but also domestic tourists. It is very interesting thing to explore these two cities in order to find out their similarities and their differences.

In the first place, they share some similarities. In fact, Hanoi has quite crowded just like Ho Chi Minh city is. In addition, both of them offer many job opportunities from manual work to intellectual work; as a result, many people belonging different classes in society have been rushing into these cities to seek for jobs. Moreover, not only Hanoi but also Ho Chi Minh cities are regarded as educational, economic centers in Vietnam with a variety of big shopping malls, famous universities and restaurants located in these cities. Another parallel is that they are facing with an equal traffic problem which is traffic congestion in peak hours.

However, they also clearly differ in some points. Firstly, Hanoi is located in the North of Vietnam while Ho Chi Minh city is in the South of Vietnam. Secondly, the area of Hanoi is 1.5times bigger than Ho Chi Minh city. According to National Mapping Bureau, Hanoi covers an area of more than 3000 square kilometers whereas the area of Ho Chi Minh city is only about 2000 square kilometers. In terms of population, Hanoi population is estimated about 9 million people but the residents of Ho Chi Minh city is approximate 8 million people. About weather, Hanoi has four different seasons including spring, summer, autumn and winter with the average annual temperature from 12 to 25 degrees Celsius but Ho Chi Minh city only has two seasons which consist of a wet season and a dry season with the temperature annual average from 25 to 35 degrees Celsius.

In conclusion, it is evident that there are some similarities between Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh city such as noisy atmosphere, employment opportunities, economic development and traffic blockage. Besides, these cities also are different some aspects including location, area, population and weather. It is advisable for tourist to experience their own unique features.