Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In society today, people tend to more competitive in life. In my perspective, I believe that this tendency brings positive and negative impacts, and this essay will outline two sides of this view.

On the one hand, the rivalry encourages each other to make more efforts to get the best results. It is a strong and legitimate reason for more people to work harder, reduce indifference or laziness, and promote innovation and a desire to improve themselves. For example, people with a sense of emulation help them become more responsible. Once they set a goal, they will pursue and work hard with an extremely high sense of responsibility. Even more, people will find their work more interesting and engaging than before, from that, it gives them something to look forward to and create better motivation.

On the other hand, contention can also pose some potential risks. Firstly, unfair competition can increase the level of stress and pressure on relationships around. This will eventually have an adverse influence on their place of study and work because anxiety will displace their ability to concentrate, leading to reduced productivity and efficiency at study as well as work. Furthermore, by reason of competition, among the collective will appear outstanding faces, they act as if they are " the main character". The team concept is almost automatically forgotten. In the workplace, The lack of teamwork is counterproductive because every employee starts working towards different goals, instead of working towards a common purpose. As a result, this will harm the company since it undermines effective communication between people which is essential for a successful and prosperous business.

In conclusion, competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies, it stimulates people to work hard to reach their desired goals. However, being competition may sabotage a person's relationships with the people around. I think that a person should find a balance and avoid being too competitive, otherwise, the consequence can be severe.