As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether computers can substitute for teachers or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the use of computer in education is not without advantages, the role of teachers should be not be underestimated.

On the one hand, there are many merits of adopting computer in teaching. First, since on the internet there are thousands of domestic and international knowledge with high-solution graphic, visual effects and colourful images, students can enable expose to such information with a click of a mouse through computers which triggers their students's curiosity to research and find out new horizons, new culture, new lands. Plenty of evidence suggests that some parents choose for children to learn distantly from school to avoid bullying and being abused. Second, by using computers frequently, students will foster their computer skills which are conducive to their future work and career. This means that to be lagged in the 4th industrial revolution, learners have to catch up with the latest technology, which at least is familiar in the classroom at school.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons why teachers should dominate class rather than computers. First, since just teachers, not computers, have enough educational command to guide students, they cannot be marginalized. Teachers are indeed more flexible than a machine in answering all questions or confusion of students, especially unusual and unprecedented questions, thus helping them gain a deeper understanding of any topics taught. Second, by conduction a variety of activities in class, teachers will assist leaners to enhance their social skills. It is true that through presentations, discussions, students can foster their soft skills, such as communication, problem-solving skill and logical thinking ability which is advantageous for their cognitive development.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the use of computer can reap several benefits in education, the teacher's role will not be replaced and neglected. By combining two forms of lecturing, teachers and schools should gain the best learning approach for students.