Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The creation of computers has changed human life forever, which has also become a highly charged topic. Many people strongly believe that the machine is the greatest invention in the last hundred years while others disprove that opinion. I contend that computers play a pivotal role in modern life yet the most.

Admittedly, there are some benefits that computers offer to people's life. To begin with, this type of machine can accelerate work efficiency by multiple times. For instance, accountants now use the programmes called Excel to calculate employee's monthly wages, which is automatic and much more accurate than in the past when they had to write down every number and added themselves. Furthermore, the way of entertainment has also become various when people purchase a computer. Many people nowadays can sit in front of the computer and play video games if they do not feel like going out. More interestingly, with the internet, they can also go online to find new friends and create new relationships.

Despite the arguments mentioned above, there are a plethora of inventions I believe that they are more essential than the computer, one of them is the electricity. By electricity, people’s life become more effectively convenient. Take some daily activities requiring electricity as examples. They can see clearly at night by turning on the light, shower in warm water with electric heater or at least they need the electricity to start the computer. Additionally, smartphones should be ranked as importantly as computers. These phones are instrumental in communicating and connecting people as they can send texts or make phone calls immediately.

To conclude, after analyzed from multiple perspectives, the creation of computers is undeniably important. However, people should not overlook other outstanding inventions and rely too much on computers.