Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It is often argued that media promotions nowadays are largely affecting customers’ decision in purchasing products. Despite the companies have the right in making advertisements to the public, I certainly agree that people’s way of thinking is changed by the media ads. I will the reason why I agree with the view and steps to be taken in protection of consumers.

Although the current advertisement firms have to sale their products to persuade others to buy it, it is in no doubt that as a consumer who are considering whether to obtain the product is hugely due to the way how the service attracts them. When they find the advertisement is reliable and renowned in a way, the deal is seen as successful. Another reason is that most commercial institution has their unique selling feature which wins public recognision and support as a means to gain a profit for the business advantage. Finally, it is the purchaser who suffers a loss when they discover the commodity comes beyond their expectation of outcome. Many others just put aside their purchased goods or even come up with complaints or criticism towards the organizations in charge, which is regarded as unfavourable to both parties.

However, steps could be taken into consideration to alleviate the problem. One could be setting up propagandas to raise the public awareness on individual consumption. Everyone should be stressed to have independent selection on products they are willing to buy. As buyers acquire the right to make a wise decision before purchasing. Another way is that public education to students by teaching them a proper value on financial management which cultivates them a wisely manner by the wave of advertisement selling in all cost. It is appropriate to let students who grow up with the correct way of decision making of consumption coming from various channels.

In summary, it is clear that consumerism looks dire without a wise choice in goods selection. Therefore, I would not recommend the way advertisements selling which distorts public value and steps should be taken into consideration.