The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The increase of the global population is concerning many people, who consider it as the most serious issue we have to tackle nowadays. The reasons that have led to this situation are related on one side with the poorness of underdeveloped countries and, on the other side, with the richness of the wealthiest ones. However, I strongly believe that, even if the population will continue to grow steadily in the next years, we will have enough technological instruments to handle the situation.

The population keep growing both in poorest and richest countries. In the case of the former, births are rising because people cannot afford prevention methods and, thus, they have no instruments to limit the spread of births. By contrast, births has also rosen in the wealthiest nations. The main cause of this is that families are that rich that they can afford to have more than two children and so families are enlarging even more.

However, I am sure it is not the main problem of our generation. As a matter of fact, it would have been a serious issue in the last century when we had not the resources to feed the whole population. Yet, today technology is able to create synthetic food and give the right nutrition to everybody. Furthermore, the previous booms of birth that we have experienced in our history had not permanent consequences, so we should focus on more serious problems. In fact, we should be more worried about a possible climate disaster, that, as many scientists are arguing, would have permanent damages on our planet and maybe, would cause the death of the whole population.

In conclusion, even if global population is growing even more in particular in the richest and in the poorest countries, we should not consider it as our greatest problem. As a matter of fact we have all the resources both to monitor and to even manage it in the worst case scenario.