The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.What are the causes of this continued rise?Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The overall world's population has exponentially increased in recent times. Since it is root of all other problems faced by us, scientists are worried that, if not taken care of, it can lead to extinction of humanity. The main factors responsible for this dilemma include hesitation to use birth control and lack of awarness about results of such development.

In current times, humanity is struck by many challanges like climate change, femines and terrorism etc. All of these problems have their own impacts on mankind but they have one thing in common; they are all due to poor population control. This is largely self-inflicted because humans have never actively tried to eliminate the problem of excessive births. It is understandable that procreating is an evolutionary instinct but not keeping strict checks on the outcome of over population has been careless at our part. Hence, humanity is reaping what it has sown in last centuries in form of population bomb becoming the biggest challange at hand.

One important reason of this problem is strong stigmas attached with the use of contraceptive options. This problem is especially prevalant in third world countries where primitive concepts about fertility are rampant. Since a lot of importance is given to child bearing and rearing in such countries, birth control is largely avoided. This results in increase in average number of kids per couple and eventually populates the planet massively. For example, countries where rate of birth control use is low, average number of children per women is more than five. Moreover, in many cultures, contraception is still a taboo subject and not talked about frequently. As young couples are mostly unaware of their options, they end up having unwanted pregnancies and contribute to the problem of overpopulation.

Another reason is lack of awareness about the outcomes of a populated planet. Many people still don't believe in climate change and consider it a conspiracy designed to guilt them for using plastic. Similarly, majority of masses considers the threat of increased population mere propaganda to stop them from having kids. Others do not have a clue about it altogether. This ignorant approach is significantly damaging any chances we have to save humanity by controlling population problem and other resultant issues.

To conclude, overpopulation has become the most important issue of current era and ignorance about birth control and effects of this problem on nature is responsible for it. Therefore, unless awareness about its damaging impacts is ensured, it is impossible to address the issue effectively.