Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world Do you think this is a positive or negative development

The similarities between countries are indeed more obvious nowadays. Because of globalization, it is available for people to try and purchase any goods from any countries. Although this modern process brings benefits in some ways, I strongly believe that it has harbored many negative implications than positive ones.

The rapid acceleration in cultural exchanges has homogenized the world’s cultures gradually, which has resulted in the loss of local culture in many countries. If the relentless advance of international brands into every corner continues, these bland packages might one day completely oust the traditional objects of a nation, which would be a loss of richness and diversity of the world, as well as the sad disappearance of the manifestations of place’s character.

The spread of multinational corporations can be detrimental to the economy of countries. Many locals have been becoming xenophile as they prefer to purchase the same products that are manufactured by well-known companies in developed countries such as electronics of Apple or casual clothes from Zara, perhaps thinking them glamorous than the ones made by domestic brands. Tourism numbers may also be affected, as travelers become disillusioned with finding every place just the same as the one they visited previously. To see the same products in shops the world over is boring and does not impel visitors to open their wallets in the same way that trinkets and souvenirs unique to that particular area do.

While globalization entitles people to have access to the same products, I think we should consider a careful approach to protect local culture’s uniqueness and avoid the dominance of abroad goods in our domestic market.