Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views and

Opinions are divided that either college students should choose subjects following their interest and passion or there should be a compulsory curriculum including subjects which will prove useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. This essay will discuss both views then I will give my perspective.

On the one hand, a curriculum that has a limited number of subjects can be a great offer for many students who hesitate about their career path. In the modern age, attending science and technology-related degrees totally fits the tendency of the labor market because this will provide numerous opportunities for students after completing graduation. For example, a tech giant Apple has been reported to move its manufacturing to Vietnam, which leads to the rapid rise in technological employment. Apart from it, emphasizing science and technology studies in universities will accelerate the pace of technological innovations, and thereby stimulating economic growth in the long-run.

On the other hand, if the students have the right to study the course of their choice, it will still benefit societal development. Because the development of humankind is inextricably linked to the occupational diversity of society, offering a broad range of courses at the tertiary level is crucial. There is no doubt how important science and technology are; however, many other fields can not be extinct or totally replaced by mass production, such as tourism, art, and business. A university in which its students are passionate about what they are learning would be an advance educational environment because, besides knowledge, it trains students independence and determination as well.

In conclusion, although it is reasonable for universities to focus on the most useful subjects, the importance of other subjects should not be ignored. In my opinion, tertiary students should be given the freedom to learn subjects they feel passionate about.