Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is undoubtedly true that countries are becoming more homogenous than before since the products demand on their citizens are more similar. I suppose that it has more benefits rather than drawbacks.

The negative impact on this case is the lost national culture gradually. This is because every countries have own characteristics that make them different with others and the ability to buy same products will degrade their cultures. For instance, every countries have their national and traditional cuisine since long time ago ut since the establishment of fast food make people lead to buy fast food especially in developing countries. In Jakarta, capital city of Indonesia, has traditional food called ketoprak and the interest of customers to buy have lost periodically that influenced by increasing number of fast food restaurant like KFC and McDonald’s. Thus, this evidence has negative effect on traditional heritage.

Thought it has negative development, this evidence towards more positive development, mainly on economic aspect. It is clear that third-world countries need to grow their economic and this event will lead them to economic growth. This is because when products demand are becoming more similar will force the multinational companies to develop their factories closer to their customers, including in middle-low economic countries. It will affect on increasing of countries revenue through tax policy, gaining job vacancy for people, and rising the rate of economic level of countries and people there. This evidence has happened in China, most of global companies established their fabrics there and it directly impact on national income and make them to be the second largest economic countries after USA. Hence, this event has more benefits for countries.

In short, although it might seem sensible that products demand are becoming more similar lead to negative effect. I prefer it has more positive effect.