Cryptocurrency’s threats to UK economy

UK government could face ‘limitless’ losses from businesses accepting cryptocurrency payments, the source of money is not taxed and cannot be retrieved when it is bankrupt.

More and more companies are starting to accept payments for goods and services in cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin, stellar, alongside debit, credit, or cash payments.

While many crypto enthusiasts are welcoming this change, experts say this could be a way for those businesses to use to launder money from the authorities, especially when the company goes bankrupt.

It is seen as the latest threat to emerge from the growing popularity of cryptocurrencies linked to money laundering and illegal black-market transactions. This is likely to deal a lot of damage to the British government in a time of prolonged economic inflation.

The Bank of England and the Ministry of Finance are considering the possibility of digital assets being integrated into the UK monetary system, to prevent possible risks as many businesses are gradually moving towards the electronic currency.