Despite a variety of sport facilities and gyms, people are less fit nowadays than ever before.

What do you think are the main causes of this problem?

What solutions can you suggest?

Today, life has never been as comfortable and convenient compared to the previous periods. Although numerous fitness centers and sport facilities have been built to encourage people to get fit and live healthily, the result is proven to be otherwise. This essay will point out what causes this phenomenon and offer different methods to tackle it.

Health centers and gyms appear everywhere, some even advertise their venues on television and social media, yet there are still a large proportion of people having health problems. It is likely because of the distraction technology, especially gadgets such as tablets, mobile phones. People would rather spend hours on the Internet or playing video games than walking to a local fitness center. The Internet is so addictive that it is impossible for some to not check their e-mails or notifications in a span of minutes, let alone exercising. Furthermore, the cost of membership of a gym can be over people's budget. Most of the fitness centers are equipped with state-of-the-art training equipment and decorating interior, the fee of joining one is expected to be exorbitant. Instead of spending a large amount of money on a membership, people would rather use them for other useful purposes.

Without exercising, the public's health issues can deteriorate quickly and become epidemics; however, there are several solutions that can encourage the people to be more active in putting off weight. While the Internet is a major distraction, it can also be used to make people more fit. If they do not want to hit the gym, then they can exercise at home, throughout online fitness courses. For instance, on YouTube alone, there are dozens of videos instructing people to exercise properly. As for the sport facilities, by adding a variety of special events for members and offering discounts to newcomers, they can attract a handful of potential customers.

In the end, fitness has always been a major concern of a majority of people for decades, yet they are reluctant to go to a sport facility. But there are few simple methods to keep the general public healthy as well as the gyms fully occupied.