In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

It seems increasingly common that the population in many affluent countries are aging consistently. In fact, this trend has some impacts on each person and the society considerably, and I can identify two remedies which governments can use to address these issues fully.

Perhaps the most widely-observed disadvantage of aging population on individuals is for the elderly to face financial worries and suffer isolation. This can be seen in many retired workers who have to rely heavily on their savings and tend to live apart from their children, which may be seen as a social norm these days. Another severe drawback would be the influence on general quality of life in some respects, as the increased number of the retired leads to the decreased quantity of working adults. This means that governments would receive less money in taxes in relation to the population’s size, thus creating a greater burden on many state-owned sectors’ budgets such as public healthcare services.

Regarding possible solutions, probably the most immediate step would be for governments to increase the current retirement ages, as we can see that many people from such age group are still conscientious and healthy enough to be productive. Another further long-term remedy could be to organize more social clubs, with various types of healthy activities, ranging from reading books, planting trees or walking with the sole purpose of promoting an active lifestyle. This may deter old people from feeling cut-off, as they can have more face-to-face interactions.

In conclusions, the increased aging population may in fact make the retired feel isolated and put more financial strain on younger working adults, but governments’ actions such as legislating proper laws associated with working ages and having initiatives to prevent sedentary lifestyles may lessen the severity of these drawbacks.