In the developed world , average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society ? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that in today's developed countries people are living longer due to the improved living conditions. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

As people live longer and the populations of developed countries grow older , several related problems anticipated. Firstly , many older people require a good deal of care , either help with personal care or nursing care. Governments are finding it increasingly difficult to find the money for this and the elderly people often do not have the money to pay for it themselves. Secondly , the increase in life expectancy has led to another problems for many governments. Reliable modern methods of contraception have led choosing to restrict the number of children, consequently, governments have had problems with their budget since it is the young and the middle-aged who do most work and pay most taxes.

In order to solve these problems governments should increase taxation payable by those who are in work. Yet, using this method may affect people's lives since they will not likely to afford their ends meet. Another solutions might be taken to combat this issue is that government ought to increase the age of retirement and yet another is to try to attract healthy people who are already in retirement back to work.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.