In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that the average life expectancy has risen especially in developed countries. This could adversely affect both individual and society however, this issue can be tackled in more effective ways.

Old age people sometimes become an extra burden in a family and in the community. This is because, government, nowadays, is spending a greater amount of money in terms of pension which should go to other development in a nation such as transport system, roads, clean irrigation and so on. Consequently, the authority faces a massive financial crisis by maintaining pension schemes. Also, the opportunity among youngsters will decline due to lack of vacancy. In other words, the employer could not replace them in their work area this becuse the pension age is a little high. For instances, the retirement age in my country in India is sixty-five, but if it is fifty it could benefit both young talents and government.

There are some solutions to address these major concerns easily. Initially, the government could cut down the amount of pension or incentive otherwise, it goes their own pocket and therefore the growth and development are not possible in many countries. Thus, the government should more focus on other areas like women and child welfare rather than a pension. Another solution is that material support such as wheelchair, walking aid, other physical protection by the health authority can also save huge amount of money. So the money can not only save the nation but it also can save elder people.

In conclusion, increasing elder population always an existing problem in many countries. If the government take a right measure against for this , it can be deal in a positive way.