In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

One question that has caused a great deal of controversy over the year is the tendency of living longer in industrialized parts. While the negative consequences of this issue could undoubtedly be inevitable, minimizing the effect of this potential trend could be gradually taken into considerations by the governments.

To begin with, it is undeniable that several problems caused by this phenomenon could be predicted. Obviously, the main issue is that this can affect the productivity and slow down the economy level in the long term of a country. The elderly, for example, can hardly suffer a complicated job when they fall to a decline of health condition, memory or suchlike matters compared to young people who just start their work and are full of energy.Secondly, the more old people, definitely the more governments have to spend on medical treatment. That is because they are prone to some serious deseases, and to cover these medical expenses will be exceedingly expensive for the governments.

On the other side, I would believe that there are some measures which should be taken by steps in order to mitigate this disturbing trend.One simple solution for this could be increasing the retirement age for those adult employees from 65 to 70. This solution can be taken for those workers who could withstand mental and physical pressure to dedicate more for working and earning money.Another measure is that governments can encourage immigration to increase the number of employees who pay taxes.Therefore, the amount of money that has been allocated to health care can be replaced by providing citizens with accomodation and transport facilities - the more important areas.

In conclusion, although the progress of life expectancy can cause negative consequences, governments ought to consider and embark on the presented solution so as to soften this trouble and invest in more significant areas.