In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the modern world, longevity of people is higher than ever before. Despite of benefits, this also brings some negative consequences.

First of all, the increasing of average life expectancy means that working age population will decline. This lead to a shortage of qualified worker. It will more difficult for businesses to fill in their lack of manpower, which causes declining productivity, higher labour costs, delayed business expansion and reduce in international competitiveness. In addition, the raising of health care costs is an issue of concern. Demands for health care rise with age denote that more old-aged people will require more doctors, nursing homes, hospital and facilities. Thus government have to spend more on reduces the expenses for needs. In fact, last year, Singapore’s government paid more than 4 billion dollars for health care costs - equivalent to 2% annual GDP of this country. The other consequence is the increase in dependency ratio. Because retires live mainly on their pension, having more old-aged people means government must spend a big sum of money for pension. Last but not least, the structure of the economy will be changed. AN economy with significant share of seniors and retires has different demands than an economy with a higher birthrate and larger working population. For example, aging populations tend to have greater demands for health care services and retirement home. This makes the economy face challenge transitioning from manufacturing to service. To solve the mentioned problems, governments should adopt policies such as people may have to retire later and receive some special pention after that, encourage immigration or encourage people to have more children.

To sum up, ageing population is a situation that is inevitable. Therefore, it is important that these problems can be solved as soon as.