In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing What problems will this cause for individuals and society Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

It is true that people in modern world are expected to live longer than ever before. Although there will be some negetive effects caused by this trend, society and goverment could certainly take steps to tackle these potential issues.

As people live longer, it may cause several problems which will have a negative influence on people's lives. The main issue is that the population of the country is getting older, thus the proportion of young labour will also decrease. This means that the pension need to be delivered to more persons, while the amount of taxes, which is one of the main sources of the pension, will undoubtely decrease due to the lack of young labour. The pressure of the state's finances will affect citizens' lives in many aspects, especially reducing the quality of public services they received. For example, if the provided healthcare couldn't meet its increasing demand, some young ages will have to look after their elderly relatives at home, which will again severe the financial situation of the country.

There are several actions that the government could take to solve the future problems decribed above. Firstly, increasing the retirement age would be a simple method to increase the labour proportion, perhaps from 65 to 70. Nowadays, people of this age tend to be health enough to continue their productive works. Secondly, it would also be great to encourage immigration in order to increase the number of young people who pay taxes. Finally, the usage of the nation budget need to be redesigned. More money should be spent on vital healthcate, accomodation and transport facilities rather than some leisure facilities, for example.

In conclusion, various measurements could be taken to mitigate the problems that are certain to arise as the population of the country get older.