The difference in age between parents and their children has increased compared to the past. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Expert throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the augmented difference in age between senior members and junior members in a family is beneficial or not. There are arguments from both sides. This essay will discuss both views and assert that its benefits outweigh its cost.

To begin with, there are a number of advantages for having more senior parents. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the ensuing family can enjoy a better living quality. In fact, compared to those young parents who have just worked for a couple of years prior to getting married, senior couples may accumulate significantly more resources, resulting in a higher quality of provisions such as house, food and education. This encourages a promising growth of children. Secondly, instead of prolonged hours of studying or working, senior couples are likely to have more time to play with children. For instance, by studying the figures from Hong Kong Population Survey, the majority of young couples have less interaction with their children, because of either pursuing a career or higher education.

Although there is a case for this change facilitating children's upbringing, the potential downside of this phenomenon cannot be ignored. The most obvious disadvantage is the presence of generation gap. While parents show less concerns on the daily routine of a child, they would rather pay rapt attention to the academic result of their offsprings owing to their extended horizons, and this might resent children. Meanwhile, children may estrange from their family, because their sharing on a dining table cannot engage their parents. This kind of interaction would deter the effectiveness of parenting and eventually end up with problems such as joining gangs and juvenile delinquency.

In conclusion, in spite of the possible drawbacks of damaging intimacy, given the current development of materialism, the benefits of nurture are more important and thus outweigh the cost. It is predicted that parenting skill will grow in importance in the foreseeable future.