Do you think middle school students should study international news as a subject?

Thanks to the development of communication technologies and the cost-effectiveness of internet services, the planet has become more linked in recent decades. A few educators have suggested that world news should be included as part of school curriculum. In my opinion, students must be aware of the world's happenings as well as its importance and thus, teaching international news can be very advantageous.

To begin with, global news can help students have a wider scope of knowledge and a broader view of the world. For example, the pupils are informed of the international sporting events and the outcomes of regular updates on global news which was seen as a catalyst that attracts children and enables them to compete in several sports competitions. Besides, the international news about a tragedy often sets young minds for unfavorable conditions. It encourages students to remain united to overcome adversity and its effects. To be more specific, when the Tsunami destroyed Japan’s historical monuments and its modern infrastructure, the tremendous effort made by Japanese people to overcome the situation motivated many young minds to think about plans to mitigate future disasters.

In addition, teaching international affairs at junior school level also develops students’ interests in early age. There are many sources of news which are always rigorously censored before being broadcasted, to help students in determining their study destination in the future. For instance, talented youngsters may get inspired by the fame and money that famous singers or actors achieve and might want to pursue a career in arts. Ultimately, teaching international news as a subject can inspire children to have a constructive discussion within their peers and steer their minds to a happier life and career opportunities that are mandatorily subjected to the latest events beyond their nation.

In conclusion, in today’s modern era where technology and social media has taken over the source of information, learning international news could benefit students. I believe that they can gain common sense as well as social knowledge more or less that may be helpful in their future.