do you think that parents should be punished if their five-year-old child commits a crime? from what age should children be held responsible for their own behaviors?

There is little doubt that a child’s development is most susceptible to the nurture and education from his or her parents. The issue that attracts more attention and discussion is whether the parents should be liable for any law-offending acts committed by their children. From my perspective, parents should be responsible for these wrongdoings or even subject to punishment.

Firstly, there is no surprise that parents hold the most integral position in the development of children mentally and physically. If young children are provided with a healthy and educational environment in which their mannerisms are well taught, it is likely that they will become ethical adults in the future. In contrast, delinquents frequently share a dissatisfied and discontent childhood where they lack parental guidance. Furthermore, children possess the natural abilities to imitate other’s behaviors, therefore, their acts are potentially a replica of their surrounding environment. For example, no sooner do children witness domestic violence between their parents repetitively than they are more likely to follow suit by resorting to violence to deal with conflicts without negotiating. For this reason, parents should be accountable for their children’s wrongdoings.

The majority of countries worldwide have endorsed legislation which formally recognizes the child’s legal responsibility for their own actions when they are over 18 years old. This is an age from which children have sufficient experience, competence and knowledge to bear all social responsibilities from voting to abiding the national law. Consequently, parental guidance is no longer necessary in the development of those individuals.

In conclusion, when young children violate the law, it is inescapable responsibility for their parents to take until their children come of age when they are enough mature and able to comprehend the implications of their behaviors.