Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

In the past there has been a great emphasis on reading in child education. While some parents encourage their children to read to develop. Many promote many engaging activities to build a wider range of skills. I believe more engaging activities can build a wider range of skills. In this essay, I will use examples from sports activities and drawing to illustrate my argument.

Firstly, the practice of group sports develops a child's special awareness. This is largely because most sports require the sportsman to maneuver an object within a fixed space. For example the 2012 DVLA survey found that seventy percent of drivers who play sports passed their driving test on their first or second attempt. This indicates that the development of spacial awareness can be linked to sports.

Secondly, an engaging activity like painting can inspire creativity in a child in a unique way. This is due to the fact that the are requires the creation and expression of a visual experience. For instance, a UK school survey found sixty percent of kids who practiced painting in childhood excelled in professions requiring creativity, including architecture, graphic design and fashion. This demonstrates that the practice of art at an early age develops a creative adult.

In summary, there are a whole host of skills that can be obtained and enhanced by the practice of a number of childhood activities. While in the past there was an emphasis on "The three R's," It is no longer the case today. It is predicted that the future education systems will encompass a growing range of activities to help future generations to flourish.