Employers are reluctant to take on people over the age of 50 because they are of the opinion that older employees are too set in their ways and are not responsive to a world that is changing so swiftly. For this reason they prefer younger workers. Is this a fair judgment?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is a common belief that, older people cannot adapt to the rapidly changing world, this is a common myth which I don’t believe.

First of all if we look at the FORBES 500 list, which shows us the wealthiest 500 firms across the world, we can clearly see that most of the CEO are above 50 years. Although adaptation and flexibility to new risky environment is advantage, for most of the big companies, staying in a calm position on a market crisis, is also as important as rapid adaptation.

As a second aspect, working for years brings also wide experience which is not written in books. A young employee can be very enthusiastic about his job, but sometimes it is good to get tricks from old wolf.

Another argument focuses on unemployment of young people, and justifies that if old people are fired or forced to retire, there will be more available places for young employees. Although it seems rational in first look, this is also contradictory to loyalty of someones to the company where he is working. This decreases someone's joy of working and their productivity. Nobody can concentrate to what they do, if they knew that, the older they get, the more they are likely to be fired. This is also a kind of discrimination which in the long run can undermine the whole working environment. Moreover, this argument does not decreases the unemployment rate, it just shifts the age of unemployed people.

To sum up, in an ideal working environment, the job should be given to someone who deserves it. This is not correlated with someone's age. Moreover, the fact that young people are better employees just because of their adaption skills were true, most of the companies will be bankrupted since most of general managers or CEO are older than 50.