Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

The employment process in companies mostly requires series of interviews which involves personal data of an applicant. Although many believe that asking much of the personal side of an individual applying for a job might not be helpful, I certainly stand to believe that it should be included because of the complexities in the events in the lives of the people nowadays, performance and attendance will most likely be affected when hired. Whether to include these information or not, these may or may not benefit an individual.

A holistic view of an individual is relevant to a company. Mostly, people with healthy being is best preferred. Hobbies, interest, and social status are just pieces of information of an employee. However, employers can determine what makes up a good employee by these things. For example, people with same interests helps to build teamwork and can probably be best enhanced through team building. To produce efficient and effective team members, one should be able to observe how these members interact harmoniously.

On the other hand, collecting these data seem to demand people to give access to their personal being which seems unfair for most people. For example, an employer might take advantage when an individual is single, hence use the power to use an employee for pleasure. Another thing is religion. Religiously conscious individuals might not get along with people of another religion and it can possibly give bad results to the company.

In general, providing more personal data can both be helpful and harmful at the same time. Nevertheless, I still stand in my opinion of maintaining personal information as mandatory, to achieving success of companies in the future. All that is needed to bring this outcome is respect and professionalism.