environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that politicians are responsible for environmental conservation. Personally, I agree with this view, however, I also think that as individuals, we can do so much to safeguard the environment.

There are two main reasons why citizens have an important role in the work of protecting the living environment on this earth. One reason is that most of the world's population are employees working in companies, and they have to travel to work by their vehicles every day. As a result, it releases carbon dioxide emissions into the atmosphere, which later leads to air pollution and global warming. Nevertheless, it can be solved by the increasing amount of workers who replace diesel- and gas-powered cars and trucks with electric ones or use public transport. Moreover, teenagers nowadays tend to buy second-hand clothing which is not only suitable for a student's pocket but also improves their creativity, confidence to cut, sew or do anything they like to the items since it is easy to see videos about DIY thrift clothes ideas on Youtube.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that environmental protection is still the responsibility of politicians as people need laws and rules so that they base on those things to stop what they are doing wrong. Firstly, in order to promote the use of electric cars, the government should provide car buyers with financial rebates upfront and expanding tax credits so buying vehicles is not as financially burdensome along with the construction of more charging stations around the whole country. They also need to refurbish and improve public transport so commuters will feel comfortable and convenient while using them, according to President Joe Biden's goal for electric vehicles. Secondly, companies that discharge chemical waste from their factories into the sea or rivers must be held accountable for their actions and be fined heavily.

In conclusion, for the reason I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that politicians are mainly in charge of environmental protection whereas individuals can also contribute a great amount of effort to this work.