Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world .Why do you think this is happening ? And how can we solve the problem ?

Nowadays, there has been an ever-increasing trend that people waste a lot of food from all corners of the world. This essay will analyse the reasons behind this trend and suggest some possible solutions to tackle this issue.

There are a number of reasons for the rise in the amount of food wasted. The first reason is the increased supply of cheap and readily available food.This encourages people to buy more than they really need. For example, many shops have launched a programme called “Buy 2 get 1 free” which attracted hundreds of customers. So a lot of food that is not eaten will be thrown into landfills. Another reason is that in order to deal with busy lifestyles, people tend to buy food for the whole week rather than go to the supermarket on a daily basis. However, some kinds of fruits and vegetables easily become rotten within a few days and then thrown away. In addition, many people do not eat all the food that they have bought because they do not plan meals carefully. This contributes to the increase in the amount of food waste.

There are several actions that you could take to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, it is important to make a detailed shopping list before going to the supermarket. Secondly, the governments should raise public awareness of the serious consequences of the rising amount of food waste for the environment and people’s health. Strict law must be introduced to forbid food waste at places such as restaurants or supermarkets. When everyone is fully aware of this, they would think more carefully to buy food.

To conclude, there are various factors leading to the rise in wasting food and measures should be implemented to tackle the issue.