Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

At the past century, around 400 languages have gone extinct, about one every three months, and most linguists estimate that half of remaining languages will be gone by the end of this century. Google uses only 30 different languages in its built-in search engine which covers only 50% of the world’s spoken languages. Should we preserve language diversity or we are on a path of becoming a monolingual species? Some people claim that the world will be a better place to live with fewer languages. But the counter argument is abundant. We should protect language diversity because languages convey human heritage, several cultural aspects and most importantly include an accumulated body of knowledge.

Languages convey the conduits of human heritages. It is a well-known fact in anthropology and linguistics that writing is a recent development in our history. Most of the masterpieces such as Iliad or Odyssey were an oral story before they were recorded in written documents. Moreover, the language itself is the only way to convey a community’s songs, stories, and poems. This worthy heritage usually exhibits morals, traditions of the community.

On a cultural level, the language includes a different pathway of thought, framework of thinking, and solving problems. They use different words and expressions for transferring an emotion or describing a situation that might have a different meaning when they have been translated into another language. For example, if we translate the Japanese expression of “Hello” into English it would be “How are you today?” which has different meaning far from to what we have expected. It clearly shows that the expression in a language conveys a culture, a way of interpreting human behavior emotion which is not conveyed by the same word or an expression in English.

Languages can provide a wealth of wisdom for humanity. They contain a precious accumulated body of knowledge, including about geography, botany, zoology, astronomy, pharmacology, meteorology and more. The language was born thousands of years before has coined a range of specific names and expressions to define objects along with emotions. Consider an endangered language “Cherokee”, a widespread language among American Indigenous people up to the eighteenth century, the language has words for every berry, bush or stem in the region. Every language has got names for any object by which the potential properties of an issue clearly have been defined. In the case of berries, a Cherokee name patently identifies the properties that a berry might have whether it is edible, poisonous or have medical values.

To recap, the language diversity should be preserved. The languages contain human heritage which cannot be excluded from our history. Furthermore, they define our cultural aspects, and more importantly, they are ripped with a possibility of being amassed by a massive body of knowledge.