Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or this agree with this opinion?

In a world where technology has developed so much that integration has almost erased all boundaries, more and more cultural values are beginning to disappear, including some ancient languages which have lasted for centuries. Many people hold the belief that this is an inevitable consequence, and that it would be in the near future when we will only use one language to communicate. My opinion, however, is that such unique values should be preserved along with humanity's development.

First and foremost, the disappearance of several languages may not seem to initially exert a huge influence but will soon corrupt the balance between communities worldwide. In simpler terms, each country or group of people have their own languages, and it is this diversity that creates a balance between them, as each has their own cultural practices and values which need to be protected. Were any of these to die out, any related information, ideas or experiences would also be wiped out of existence forever.

Moreover, it not would be reasonable to say that fewer languages can help create easier communication between people. Over thousands of years, communities have developed their own language to convey all their information or emotions, which means that each language has different features and characteristics that cannot be replaced. Switching to use fewer, or even one language, could be extremely challenging on the grounds that it could never adapt to fully express everything.

However, some people believe that the disappearance of several languages are completely acceptable, and that this is a result of natural selection. It is their opinion that the human society will never stop evolving, and on its way of progress, there will be some languages which need to be omitted since they no longer have the ability to contain the increasing amount of information created. New ones, as a result, will be invented in order to fulfil this task, and to make communication between us all more effective.

In conclusion, despite the fact that languages will die out at a certain time, I believe we should try our best to save as many as we can to maintain such cultural diversity that has been built up since the early ages of human history. All languages that were ever created somewhat contributed to the development that we have now, and we should preserve them not only as a means of communication, but as proof of our path to this developed society as well.