Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, traffic and pollution problems have always been among the most important issues significantly affecting people's lives. Therefore, there are many proposals on ways to tackle them, including increasing the cost of petrol. This essay will point out some supportive reasons why this may be effective, and introduce some other possible solutions to the situation.

To begin with, making petrol a more costly source of energy could be very useful in dealing with traffic and pollution problems. First and foremost, people will have to think carefully before deciding to commute from one place to another, as they don't wanna waste their money on such expensive fuels. This may dramatically reduce the number of personal vehicles on the road, and even act as encouragement to change their favourable type of transport into public services such as bus or train. Furthermore, the increasing expenses will prevent factories from overusing energy without proper planning, and force them to improve the efficiency of their working facilities so as to minimise the amount of petrol used in production. As a consequence, less industrial pollutants will be released into the atmosphere, creating a better environmental quality.

However, this may not be the only possible way to tackle these problems. Government should tighten the rules on these areas by imposing a permanent ban on any factory that exceeds the standard level of harmful waste, or requiring citizens to use public transportation at least several days per week. What is more, local authorities should launch campaigns to raise public awareness of the situation, as this is the core reason for such complicated issues we are facing. Holding talkshows, using banners or advertising on media platforms are some possible ways which can be considered to be used.

In conclusion, while increasing the price of petrol is likely to be an effective method, there are many alternative ways we can take into account and decide to use in the future.