Every year several languages die out, some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many languages spoken by minority groups of people have been disappeared recently. This can be seen by some as an opportunity to simplify our life since more languages available means that more effort is needed to understand and interpret them. However, I completely disagree with this idea because the language has a crucial role to play in cultural and traditional preservation.

There are some reasons why a decrease in the number of languages existing will help to make human life less complicated. As international integration and co-operation are facilitated in an effort to improve economic developments, understanding and communication capacity is required to efficiently process any business deals or peace-seeking negotiation. People thereby have to learn one or even two more foreign languages so as to compete with others in labor markets. Moreover, the fact that technological and medical equipment are largely imported in most countries causes difficulties for practitioners and engineers to operate them in relation to their safety and efficiency. As a result, more time and efforts have to be put just into taking control of such equipment.

On the other hand, language is a central part of a nation’s or minority’s heritage and is seen as a foundation for the developing and upholding any other forms of cultural and social identity. Without the ability to speak and understand their mother tongues, for example, younger generations can neither acknowledge their own ancestors’ history events and milestones nor make a comprehensive interpretation of antique artworks, both of which are important and effective forms of conveying cultural and social values to the next generations. Therefore, they cannot afford a sense of their identity and will lose track of their own history.

In conclusion, people cannot make economic progress at the expense of losing their identity. Language preservation should be seen as a top priority of ones seeking to lead a fulfilling and meaningful life.