Every year several languages die out. some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Languages are considered as preservation of human history. Every language has different abilities, which are used to ease communication between people. Thus, any attempt to prevent the extinction of a language helps to maintain a portion of our heritage.

Albeit many languages have already vanished, some languages managed to endure. Especially those, which are still being used in religious entities such as Latin and Coptic. The main reason for a language to be annihilated is the scarce of its employment as a formal language. For example, most of the old American languages disappeared, because there is nobody currently neither use it nor teach it to the succeeding generations. Furthermore, most used languages, such as English itself, has lost a significant portion of its vocabulary. As languages’ users generally seek to utilize the easiest ways to express what is in their minds.

Additionally, some languages still sustain itself, even if it has no known alphabet. For instance, the Bedouin language in North Africa never had been written. Nevertheless, it survived until now and it is widely used by the natives.

Initially, all endangered languages must be listed. Thereafter, programs to save these languages have to be initiated, in order to promote the utilization of such languages to the populace. Finally, a transcription of each one of these languages has to be written and conserved. So, future generations can be always aware of their ancestors’ history.

All in all, languages are the root of communication between people. The current common languages are a mere evolution of more solid languages of old.