Every year several languages die out Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

I'll begin by saying I disagree with the idea. It might or might not be true that life will actually be easier when only a few languages exist. Plus, even if it is the case, it doesn't mean we should not be concerned with the extinction of languages.

First of all, let us take a look at what life would be like if there were only a handful of languages left in the world. It is true that in such a case, it might be easier for someone who knows one of the remaining languages to travel around and communicate with others, given that more people will share one particular language, but it can also pose challenges to communities where the language has been recently adopted. As we all know, language is the medium for most of the history in a particular geographical region. Once the language that was used to document life and events in the past is no longer spoken, it becomes considerably more difficult to preserve and spark interest in the local history, proving invaluable when trying to understand current issues. It is, therefore, hard to come to the conclusion that the removal of languages will only render life easier.

Moreover, the issue of languages dying out goes deeper than losing the ability to understand the past; it touches some core beliefs in modern societies such as diversity and autonomies. Evidently, language is largely responsible for the cultivation of a uniform yet distinct identity shared by community members. It is the foundation of most nation-states and within nation-states political divisions. The extinction of languages will likely result in a struggle of locating onself in this world for those who have recently adopted a language that was foreign to the land. Besides, the diversity in customs and ideas of formerly heterogeneous groups will inevitably subside, thereby turning society into a homogenous one.

As a result, it might actually be easier to rule such a society with unifying agendas and policies, hence less autonomy locally. However, after all those years of modern democracy, is this what we want in the end, though? A homogenous, integrated world that shares the same voices and concerns? I have my reservation for it. It borders the idea of a brave new world depicted in some of the dystopian novels.

To conclude, the prospect of the extinction of languages is not a particularly thrilling one since one does not necessarily live a comfortable life when that comes true, and it can bear scary dystopian sounding consequences.