Every year several languages die out Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

I'll begin by saying I disagree with the idea. It might or might not be

true that life will be actually easier when few languages exist. Plus,

even if it is the case, it doesn't mean we should not be concerned with

the extinction of languages.

First of all, let us take a look at what life

would be like if there were only a handful of languages left in the

world. It is true that in such a case, it might be easier for someone

who knows one of the remaining languages to travel around and

communicate with others, given that more people will share one

particular languages, but it can also pose challenges to communities

where the language has been recently adopted. As we all know,

language is the medium for most of the history in a particular

geographical region. Once the language that was used to document

life and events in the past is no longer spoken, it becomes

considerably more difficult to preserve and spark interest in the local

history which can prove invalueble understanding current issues. It is

therefore hard to come to a conclusion that removal of languages will

only render life easier.

Moreover, the issue of languages dying out

goes deeper than losing the ability to understand the past, it touches

some core beliefs in modern societies such as diversity and

autonomies. Evidently, language is largely responsible for the

cultivation of a uniform yet distinct identity shared by the members of

a community. It is the foundation of most nation states and within

nation states political divisions. The extintion of languages will likely

result in a struggle of locating onself in this world for those who have

recently adopted a language that was foreign to the land. Besides, the

diversity in customs and ideas of originally heterogenous groups will

inevitably subside, thereby turning a society into a homogenous one.

As a result, it might actually be easier to rule such a society with

unifying agendas and policies, hence less automies locally. However,

after all those years of modern democracy, is this what we want in the

end though? A homogenous, integrated world that share the same

voices and concerns? I have my reservation for it. It borders the idea

of a brave new world depicted in some of the distopian novels.

To conclude, the prospect of the extinction of languages is not a

particularly thrilling one since one does not necessarily live an easy life

when that coms true and it can bear scary dystopian sounding

consequences.