Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people choose to become vegetarians since a vegetarian diet is believed to be better for the human body. Although I agree that eating only plant foods provides us with a healthier diet, I do not believe that everyone should stop eating meat in order to enjoy good health.

There are a variety of reasons why becoming a vegetarian is beneficial. Firstly, science has proven that vegetarians have lower risks of developing several chronic illnesses such as heart disease, diabetes, some forms of cancer and obesity. This is due to the fact that a healthy vegetarian diet is typically low in fat and high in fiber. Secondly, eating vegetables properly gives us adequate nutrition to support our bodies. For example, raw spinach is a great source of Vitamins A, K, E as well as calcium. As a result, instead of eating many kinds of food to get these vitamins, we only need a bowl of spinach.

However, there are some disadvantages to take into consideration before becoming a vegetarian. Perhaps the principal one is that if a vegetarian’s daily meals are not properly balanced, he or she might suffer from a lack of calories to meet his or her energy needs. Consequently, they will feel lethargic and unable to do anything energetic. In addition, food which is eaten raw, steamed or stir-fried retains more vitamins and minerals than that which is boiled in water or deep-fried. Thus, culinary traditions such as those in Vietnam are the most advisable ones to follow in preparing vegetarian meals. Vegetarians brought up using Western cooking methods should, therefore, either change their cooking style or else adopt a non-vegetarian diet.

In conclusion, although healthy, a vegetarian diet is not for everyone and it requires care in the choice of foods and preparation of meals.