Explain advantages and disadvantages of coeducation in institutes of Pakistan and also state your opinion.

Over the past decade, coeducational institutes are gaining popularity in Pakistan. In my opinion, although there are some drawbacks associated with co-education, but the advantages of this approach clearly outweigh them.

Firstly, the biggest advantage of polysexual institutes is that it provides healthy social interaction between two sexes. Since most workplaces nowadays have sexually diverse workforce, it makes experience in communication with other gender more valuable. For example, a recent global survey conducted by United Nations illustrated that 10% job terminations in 2018 happened due to the lack of ability to integrate with opposite sex.

Secondly, gender diversity results in more creative thinking. It has been proved that both men and women think differently, and these contradicting thoughts are responsible for out of the box thinking. For example, sociologists have proven that creativity dies in the absence of criticism. Therefore, to keep innovations alive, its necessary that these both genders work together.

However, co-education has its own drawback. Problems like sexual harassment become more severe in the polysexual institutes especially in universities because most students experience hormonal changes there. To illustrate, a survey conducted by Human Right Organisation showed that 80 per cent of sexual harassment cases, reported over the period of five years, included 18 to 25 years old attackers but, in my opinion, this behaviour can be controlled by applying strict regulatory rules.

In conclusion, since advantages of co-education, such as healthy social interaction and creativity, exceed its disadvantages, this approach of education is considered superior to monosexual approach.