Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment What can governments do to address these problems What can individual people do

environment protection has been a heated discussion ever since human beings entered the Era of Industry. many experts now claim that our envrionment is under great threats , many of which are related to human activities. In this essay, I will list some of the causes resulting to environment deterioation, and try to explore some possible actions so simple that even single society member can take to protect our planet.

Needless to day, global warming arising from our dependence on fossil fuel is getting severe these days. The unstoppable advances in technology not only greatly enhance our living standard, but encourage the materialism as well, including people's preferences to buy private cars, dependence on electrical devices such as air conditoners and refrigrators. All of them add to soaring amounts of carbon dioxide emissions.

Besides that, deforestation for more farming lands has put our world under the threat of desertfication. some scientists estimate that one third of our world's arable lands have turn into deserts. Heavy use of all sorts of fertilizers degrades the soil, pollutes our drinking water. Last but not least, endangered animals and plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, since human constructions like office buildings, dams and wind farms interfere with many animals’ migration patterns, posing dangers to other animals on the food chain.

However, I believe even some simple changes from individual level can make a change to delay, even reverse many damages caused by human. these change include more use of recyclable bags instead of plastic ones when shopping, eatting more vegetable instead of meat, since the later takes as much as 5 times of resoucers to grow than the former. when going home from work, people can rely more on public transportations such as buses, subways, bicycles from bike-sharing scheme, all of which are all clean, affordable, and environmental friendly.

To sum up, even if we have damaged the environment in many ways, simple changes in our life still play an important role to protect it.