Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

There is a constant discussion about whether the government should ban extreme sports including skydiving and skiing. It is argued by some that these sports should be banned due to the high risks involved in playing these. In my opinion, I believe that people should be allowed to play these sports as long as safety is ensured.

First of all, all extreme sports are tested for safety before people are allowed to participate; therefore, these activities should not be considered as so dangerous that they have to be prohibited. Moreover, these extreme sports, which have been quite popular among the public for several years, have not been banned up to now, which clearly illustrate the fact that these activities have been acknowledged by the government. Adequate training is provided to the participants to minimise the probability of accidents. For instance, anyone wanting to participate in skydiving alone must have a legal license showing that they have had appropriate training, otherwise, they need to be accompanied by a professional who also has a legal license.

Secondly, it would be practically impossible to ban extreme sports due to its demand from the community. As many people find these sports to be exciting and satisfying, therefore, it is unreasonable to prohibit others to stop playing their favourite sport. Furthermore, many researchers have found that these activities are beneficial in our life as it helps in boosting one’s self-confidence and in handling stressful situations. Moreover, it also helps in improving our mental state. In other words, people having low self-esteem often lack faith in themselves, and these extreme activities proving our capability, which, in turn, helps in strengthen our confidence.

In conclusion, although extreme sports such as skiing and skydiving seem to be dangerous, I believe that these activities should not be banned because not only are these safe but also helpful in improving our mental health.