Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary and should be implemented wherever possible.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Farmers are the real treasure of a country that’s why the government wants to protect them from some kinds of taxes and implement a special tax on imported food. I am partially agreed with these kinds of policies.

Firstly, if a country has a productive land and everything can be produced. This is very good to motivate farmers to utilise all the resources. Thus, the administration provides some types of special subsidies and loans to them so they have enough money to produce and take care of all the vegetables and fruits and other products. If the government apply extra taxes on imported goods which become more costly so people will prefer to buy domestic products as compared to imported products.

On the other hand, if there is much taxation on the goods come from other countries so some countries stop their business with other nations because of their losses. It will also disturb their relationship with each other. For example, in Australia, there are so many products comes from China if the government starts extra excise duties it may disturb their relationship. As well as ,if there is no duties on agriculture department, a country may have many loses because a huge part of tax directly or in indirectly comes from agriculture. In the end, A nation should see their economic conditions whether they can afford no tariffs on agriculture and also think twice to apply extra taxes on imported products.