Farming is the backbone of the country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

There is no denying the fact that farming is the oldest and most significant profession in the world. Majority of the other businesses, trades and works directly or indirectly depend on it. However, young people seem uninterested to adopt it as their profession and likely to pursue other careers over it. Numerous factors contribute to this growing trend which are discussed in this essay with suggestions to tackle this situation.

Analysing the reasons behind this scenario ,first is that, farming is considered a tiresome job which involves tremendous amount of physical work. Nowadays, youngsters, holding professional degrees prefer jobs which demand lesser manual work and labour. So, they like to pursue those careers which offer them comfort as well as handsome incomes. Moreover, in case of farming, a person has to work in fields in all unfavourable weather conditions such as in hot summers and in cold winters. Young people do not like to work in such tough conditions.

Additionally, in modern times, agriculture sector has not remained as profitable as it was in the past. In many countries around the world, government policies are against the demands of farmers which compelled the new generations to lose their enthusiasm to choose farming for their livelihood. Anti-farming bills have led to suicides of farmers in many areas which affect the young minds adversely to engage in this work.

Moving towards the solutions to overcome this issue, first of all, governments should bring changes in agricultural laws which are obsolete in today's times. Secondly, youngsters should be encouraged to adopt farming by providing them with latest machinery and financial help. It will help this sector to be more beneficial and commercially strong.

To sum up, it is the need of the hour that youngsters should show their involvement to revive this dying sector. Better investments and guidance can motivate them to choose it as a career.