Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In this day and age, humans are no longer interested in walking. Technological advancements and widespread transport have been the prime reasons for this issue. However, people can be encouraged to take up walking by several effective methods.

To begin with, a myriad of people have lost their walking habits since the development of cutting-edge technology and means of transport. In spite of the fact that modern technology plays an indispensable role in human’ life, it is advisable that this can do harm to people's health. Conspicuously, lifts and escalators are omnipresent in most of workplaces and buildings which can contribute to the laziness of users because they are time-saving and convenient. Additionally, there are countless journey made by cars and motorbikes, even within short distances. Therefore, users tend to get away from physical activities, particularly walking. For instance, instead of picking up children to school on foot, a huge number of parents opt for used cars as long as they are safe and fast no matter the distance.

Some approaches are implemented to stimulate people to walk more often. First, in some low-rise buildings, the construction of stairs should be obligatory, and elevators just only use for the disabled. This method can enhance the physical activities of humans. Second, governments should build more zone for pedestrians, facilitating the frequence of people coming to this place. Last but not least, in order to limit car-using unnecessarily, no-stopping space should be established in the vicinity of schools. Should children accustomed to the habit of walking, their parents will accompany their children on journeys. Therefore, the whole family gets used to regular walking exercises.

To sum up, the advancement of state-of-the-art technology and the common of vehicles are the main factors that contribute to the lack of walking in human daily life. Nevertheless, several useful measures should be carried out to encourage people to walk more frequently.